2023 TxA Honor Awards Announced

AIA Dallas is excited to congratulate it's eight winning nominees submitted for the 2023 TxA Honor Awards.

The 2023 Texas Society of Architects Honor Awards recognize exceptional members, firms, individuals, and organizations for outstanding achievements in support of the profession of architecture, the built environment, and quality of life in Texas. Recipients will be recognized at our upcoming 84th Annual Conference and Design Expo on November 2–4 in Fort Worth, TX. View the full slate of winners on the Texas Society of Architect's website >>

Jeff Potter, FAIA

Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Honor of Llewellyn W. Pitts, FAIA - Jeff Potter, FAIA

Jeff Potter, FAIA, is founding principal and vice president of POTTER in Dallas. Throughout his 42-year career, Potter has contributed to the future of the profession through leadership at all levels of the AIA. He was president of TxA in 2004 and became a member of the AIA Board of Directors in 2006. Most notably, he served as the 2012 president of AIA, where he led the initiative to re-position the Institute to better communicate the value of architecture and its benefit to society. After his presidency, Potter joined the Architects Foundation Board of Directors, leading it as president for two terms and securing its Diversity Advancement Scholarships program. In recognition of his significant contributions, Potter has also been named the winner of AIA’s 2023 Edward C. Kemper Award.

Malone Maxwell Dennehy Architects

Architecture Firm Award - Malone Maxwell Dennehy Architects

Founded in 1992 as Michael Malone Architects, MMDA has championed the role of architects in society for more than 30 years. Each of its principals — Michael Malone, FAIA, Audrey Maxwell, AIA, and Paul Dennehy, FAIA — has served as TxA president and established a long record of service in the AIA, encouraging their firm members to do the same. They are also leaders in their community, bringing their skills as architects to the forefront of their engagement with local organizations. In addition to MMDA’s commendable record of service, the firm is also creating beautiful, thoughtful work at a variety of scales. Their designs are known for being rigorous, well organized, and environmentally suited to their sites. Notable projects include the Sumner Bohannon House, the Center for Integrative Counseling and Psychology, and Highland Capital Management in Dallas.

Darren James, FAIA

Award for Community Service in Honor of James D. Pfluger, FAIA - Darren L. James, FAIA, NOMA

Darren L. James, FAIA, NOMA, president and equity partner for KAI Enterprises, leverages his passion for civic leadership, advocacy, and architecture to improve the lives of the communities he serves. James has distinguished himself as a true servant-leader, generously sharing his experiences and values daily and passionate about engaging with multiple communities at many levels. His nonprofit board service since 2001 includes leadership and strategic direction for 20 organizations, including Fair Park First, the Dallas Citizens Council, Trinity Park Conservancy, Dallas Black Chamber of Commerce, TBAE, and NCARB. James is known for seeking complex, culturally conscious, politically sensitive projects, and for highlighting opportunities for investment that can alter communities’ narratives and provide positive generational change.

Katie Hitt, Assoc. AIA

Associate Member of the Year - Katie Hitt, Assoc. AIA

Katie Hitt, Assoc. AIA, is managing director of the Dallas Architecture and Design Exchange, where she fosters valuable connections between the design community and North Texas. She is described as a catalyst for innovation, driven to educate everyone on the value of architecture and design. Just three years into her role at AD EX, Hitt has helped make the profession more accessible by founding a successful K-12 Architecture Camp series and establishing a committee that has quadrupled scholarship funding. She previously managed communications, branding, public relations, and advocacy for AIA Dallas and continues to work with the chapter as managing editor of COLUMNS magazine.

Emerging Professionals Success Teams Program

Mentorship Award - Emerging Professionals Success Teams

Part of the larger AIA Dallas Emerging Professionals Network, Success Teams is a program focused on increasing licensure by providing support and resources for individuals preparing for the ARE. Participants are helped to build a structured path to licensure, gain a valuable network of peers and mentors, and have the opportunity to give back by becoming leaders in the program. Success Teams has been in existence for 15 years and remains a consistent first step for EPs seeking career advancement and AIA involvement. It has also served as a foundation around which the EP Network has been able to grow other new and exciting initiatives.

UTA CAPPA Design Build Studio

Citation of Honor - UTA CAPPA Design Build Studio

Since its start in 2002, the University of Texas at Arlington’s Design Build Studio has impacted hundreds of students, community members, and professional and industry partners. The program gives students full-scale design and construction opportunities while working with community partners in North Texas. Through a well-crafted process, projects apply innovative research, develop a critical advocacy platform, deepen design education, and foster engagement to support community-driven ideas. Students have completed a range of works — from installations and gardens to single-family residences and civic projects for local municipalities — creating a diverse array of typologies, material/technology benchmarks, and community interaction. 

Nate Eudaly, Hon. TxA

Honorary Membership - Nate Eudaly 

With his focus on collaboration and community outreach, Nate Eudaly has advanced architecture and design as executive director of the Dallas Architecture Forum for the past 18 years. Under his leadership, the Forum has partnered with many organizations and presented hundreds of lectures, panel discussions, special events, and symposia reaching more than 67,000 people, including members, professionals, and the general public. The Architecture Forum reaches, and includes on its board, members of the public who recognize and support excellence in architecture, serving as a bridge between the profession and the public while supporting AIA Dallas.

Republic National Bank Building

Architectural Landmark Award - Republic National Bank Building

The Republic National Bank Building was completed in 1954 as the headquarters for Republic National Bank. It was the first significant office building completed after World War II in downtown Dallas and instantly became a city landmark. A 36-story tower with a low-rise base, it was designed in the International Style by the New York firm of Harrison & Abramovitz with Dallas-based architects Gill & Harrell. The building was one of the first in the country to specifically utilize aluminum cladding and was topped with a spire and half-billion candlepower beacon visible up to 120 miles away. The tower shaped the then-next generation of skyscrapers in Texas in the mid-century and remains one of the most recognizable buildings on the Dallas skyline today.