The Dallas/Fort Worth Disaster Action Committee informs and coordinates design professionals' action in preparing for and responding to disaster conditions.


To be eligible to partcipate in the assessment of buildings after a disaster, a licensed architect or professional engineer must complete a certification training program and watch four FEMA webinars.  Information on these can be found at:

California EOS Evaluator Training:
Safety Assessment Program
Evaluator Student Manual

FEMA Webinars:
a. IS-100.b - Introduction to Incident Command System
b. IS-200.b - ICS for Single Resources and Initial Action Incidents
c. IS-700.a - NIMS An Introduction
d. IS-800.b - National Response Framework, An Introduction

Additional information is available at:

State of Texas Emergency Management

Texas Emergency Management Statutes

Texas Emergency Management Preparedness Website

State of Texas Emergency Management Plan

Texas Emergency Preparedness Portal

Texas State & Local Emergency Organizations

Texas Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster

National Emergency Management

Homeland Security Presidential Directive 5 (HSPD-5)

National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster

FEMA Safe Rooms