2023 Call for Nominations: National Honor Awards

Organized by the AIA Dallas Community Honors Committee

Deadline: Monday, July 10

Each year, the AIA Dallas Community Honors Committee celebrates the individuals and groups who are promoting, improving, and expanding our profession. We nominate and create the submission packets for awards bestowed by Texas Society of Architects (TxA), AIA National, and by our local Chapter. It is a role we take seriously, and we strive to think outside of the box to recognize those who make a meaningful impact on our community.

The AIA Dallas Community Honors Committee is currently seeking local nominations for the National Honor Awards in the following categories:

  • AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Architectural Education
    Architecture’s future depends on its next generation of leaders—and the educators who impact their lives. The Topaz Medallion honors those who educate others to ensure architecture’s enduring excellence. This award, jointly presented by AIA and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), recognizes outstanding individual contributions in architectural education. It is presented to an individual who has had a significant impact on architectural education and the discipline and practice of architecture. It is the highest award the organizations make to an educator and reflects their joint commitment to recognize service to the profession, academy, and society.

  • AIA Award for Excellence in Public Architecture
    Great public architecture embodies the identity and values of a society. The Award for Excellence in Public Architecture recognizes architects in the public and private sectors who design distinguished public facilities; and public officials, or other individuals, who advocate for the design excellence of public spaces.

  • Architecture Firm Award
    Every year, the AIA recognizes one firm that has produced notable architecture for at least a decade. It’s our highest honor—given to firms on par with past recipients Ehrlich Architects, Eskew+Dumez+Ripple, and Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects—firms whose passion and practice have earned them a permanent place on our granite Wall of Honor at AIA headquarters.

  • AIA Associates Award
    The Associates Award recognizes exceptional leaders within the Associate AIA membership designation who have made significant contributions to their component, community, professional organizations, and/or in the design and construction industries.

  • Collaborative Achievement
    The field of architecture does not evolve solely through the work of architects. The Collaborative Achievement Award recognizes the achievements of allied professionals and architect teams which have advanced the architectural profession. Shared dedication and distinguished achievement earn this award, whose past recipients have included the Post-Sandy Initiative and the National Building Museum.

  • Edward C. Kemper Award
    This award recognizes a member who has had a significant impact on the profession through service to AIA or an architecture-related organization. The highest service award the AIA can confer upon a member, it is named in honor of Edward C. Kemper, who led AIA as executive director from 1914 to 1948.

  • Gold Medal
    The Gold Medal is the AIA’s highest annual honor, recognizing individuals whose work has had a lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture. Considered one of the most prestigious awards in the architecture world, the Gold Medal has been received by well renowned architects such as Denise Scott Brown & Robert Venturi, Paul Revere Williams, Julia Morgan, or Angela Brooks and Lawrence Scarpa.

  • Honorary Membership
    AIA recognizes the notable contributions and service of people outside of the architecture profession with Honorary Membership. Honorary Membership is open to a single individual, or two individuals who have created one body of work, who are ineligible for AIA Membership.

  • Whitney M. Young Jr. Award
    Civil rights leader Whitney Young challenged architects to assume their professional responsibility to address pressing social issues. Named in his honor, The Whitney M. Young Jr. Award distinguishes an architect or architectural organization that embodies social responsibility and actively addresses a relevant issue, such as affordable housing, inclusiveness, or universal access. This social engagement isn’t restricted to architecture—it can be expressed in any area of the nominee’s life or work.

  • Young Architects Award
    The Young Architects Award recognizes AIA Members in the early stage of their architectural career, who have shown exceptional leadership in design, planning, education, and service to the profession. The following members in good standing are eligible to be nominated: AIA architect members who has been licensed to practice architecture less than 10 years at the time of the submission deadline; Associate AIA members who have passed the ARE; International AIA members who meet one of the qualifications listed above.

Any AIA Dallas or AIA Northeast Texas section member in good standing can submit a nominee for consideration. Nominees must be located within the geography of AIA Dallas and/or AIA Northeast Texas. To submit a nomination, complete the Call for Nominations with nominee and nominator contact information, a brief explanation of why you believe they deserve the award, and an overview of relevant experience and/or impact. Up to three links to websites, articles, or information about the nominee may also be included. Learn more about each award and view lists of past recipients here.

Once nominations are compiled, the committee will review all submissions, determine the best nominee for each award, and will present the slate of nominees for a vote by the Board of Directors. While not all nominees will be put forward for candidacy this year, they will remain on the watch list for future consideration.