Call for Nominations: 2023 State Honor Awards

Organized by the AIA Dallas Community Honors Committee

Deadline: Tuesday, March 7

Each year, the AIA Dallas Community Honors Committee celebrates the individuals and groups who are promoting, improving, and expanding our profession. We nominate and create the submission packets for awards bestowed by Texas Society of Architects (TxA), AIA National, and by our local Chapter. It is a role we take seriously, and we strive to think outside of the box to recognize those who make a meaningful impact on our community. Because of the committee’s efforts, 10 of TxA’s 20 2022 awards went to deserving Dallas individuals, projects, and organizations.

The AIA Dallas Community Honors Committee is currently seeking local nominations for the TxA Honor Awards in the following categories:

  • TxA Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Honor of Llewellyn W. Pitts, FAIA
    The Medal for Lifetime Achievement is awarded to a single member each year in recognition of a lifetime of distinguished leadership and dedication to architecture, the profession, and the community.
  • TxA Architecture Firm Award
    The Architecture Firm Award is presented to a single Texas firm that has consistently produced distinguished architecture and has contributed significantly to the profession and the community for a period of at least 10 years. This award is the highest honor the Texas Society of Architects can confer upon an architectural firm.
  • TxA Award for Community Service in Honor of John D. Pfluger, FAIA
    Recognizes a single individual member for an extended commitment to community service and/or significant contributions to the community evidenced in a positive impact on urban, environmental, or neighborhood issues.
  • TxA Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions in Honor of Edward J. Romieniec, FAIA
    This award recognizes a single individual architectural educator for outstanding educational contributions. Must be a current or former member of the faculty at one of the accredited schools or colleges of architecture in Texas, or at one of the state’s community colleges, and a full-time educator for at least five years. It is required that a nominee teaching courses in architecture should be a member of the AIA.
  • TxA Award for Equitable Practice in Architecture in Honor of John S. Chase Jr., FAIA
    The award is to recognize the effort of those architects who have made significant, measurable strides in their practice, in the practice of others, or in the public awareness of equitable practice in architecture. The award is open to all members of the Texas Society of Architects practicing architecture in Texas, to AIA components within Texas, to Texas Society of Architects members’ firms, or to any program (such as an event, research project, or community initiative) that was produced in Texas by a Texas Society of Architects member.
  • TxA Award for Early Career Professional Achievement in Honor of William W. Caudill, FAIAAwarded to a single architect member who has shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession in the early stages of his or her architectural career. Texas architect members who have been practicing as a licensed architect fewer than 120 months (months need not be consecutive) by the submission deadline and are currently registered in the State of Texas are eligible.
  • TxA Associate Member of the Year
    This Honor Award is presented to a single Associate AIA member who best exemplifies the highest qualities of leadership and has demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to his or her local component, or to Texas’ membership through service to the profession and/or in the community.
  • TxA Honorary Membership
    Honorary membership in the Texas Society of Architects is one of the highest honors the Society can bestow upon a person outside the profession of architecture. It is awarded to individuals for their long-term association with architects, architecture, or allied professions in providing a better quality of life in Texas. Honorary Membership is awarded for the nominee’s accomplishments, which are truly outstanding and deserving of statewide recognition.
  • TxA Mentorship Award
    Awarded to a Texas Society of Architects member or a Texas AIA chapter for developing unique programming for the successful development of Associate AIAs, or for an extraordinary effort to mentor and promote the advancement of these professionals at the local or state level.
  • TxA Award for Excellence in the Promotion of Architecture through the Media in Honor of John G. Flowers, Hon. AIA
    Awarded to recognize an individual or organization for excellence in the promotion of architecture through the media. Media is a broad category and can include written materials, radio/TV, web and digital format.
  • TxA Citation of Honor
    Awarded to individuals, groups, or organizations outside the profession whose activities make significant contributions in supporting the creation of safe, beautiful, equitable, and sustainable environments or communities in Texas.
  • TxA Artisan Award
    The Artisan Award is presented to individuals, groups, or organizations outside the profession whose artistry, talent, technique, diligence, creative insight, and collaborative nature support the creation of safe, beautiful, and sustainable environments and make significant contributions to the built and natural environment in Texas. The intent of the award is to recognize those individual persons or groups who directly and personally create, craft, and manipulate materials, assemble, and finish in a comprehensive way and is to not be open to those entities that organize, schedule, coordinate, and direct artisan work, such as contractors or construction managers.

Any AIA Dallas or AIA Northeast Texas section member in good standing can submit a nominee for consideration. Nominees must be located within the geography of AIA Dallas and/or AIA Northeast Texas. To submit a nomination, complete the Call for Nominations with nominee and nominator contact information, a brief explanation of why you believe they deserve the award, and an overview of relevant experience and/or impact. Up to three links to websites, articles, or information about the nominee may also be included. View the list of past recipients here.

Once nominations are compiled, the committee will review all submissions, determine the best nominee for each award, and will present the slate of nominees for a vote by the Board of Directors. While not all nominees will be put forward for candidacy this year, they will remain on the watch list for future consideration.