Design Awards

The AIA Dallas Design Awards program is seeking entries responsive to expression of beauty, poetry, site condition and context, inspiration, process, and environmental, economic, and social impact.

The AIA Dallas Design Awards celebrate outstanding achievement in architectural design by AIA Dallas chapter members and AIA Northeast Texas section members. The purpose of the awards program is to honor the architects, clients, and consultants who work together to achieve design excellence, both in the metropolitan area and around the globe, and to elevate the value of architectural practice in the local community.

AIA Dallas recognizes the immense role and responsibility architects have in mitigating the negative impacts of the built environment on the natural environment. To bring the AIA Dallas Design Awards program into closer alignment with the AIA’s Position Statement on Sustainable Practice and the AIA’s 2030 Commitment, the Project Information Form now includes a narrative description of how sustainable design and building performance strategies have been integrated with the project’s broader design goals.

How to Enter:

For eligibility, entry criteria and submission details, please view our 2017 Submission Guidelines. For the Project Information Form template, click hereNew this year, the Project Information Form has been expanded to include a description of environmental performance goals and strategies.

Submissions must be entered online. Please enter your information, submit your images and Project Information Sheet through the Design Awards portal. After uploading all entries, please proceed here for payment.  

Built Design Awards Timeline:

Wednesday, August 23rd: Submission Opens
Monday, September 11th at 5:00 pm: Early Bird Submission Deadline
Friday, September 22nd at 5:00 pm: Final Submission Deadline
Wednesday, October 4th: Built Design Awards Juror Discussion
Thursday, October 5th: Built Design Awards Announcement Celebration
Monday, October 16th: You've Got 5 Minutes, Kid: Design Awards Edition - Save the date! Awards recipients will discuss their winning projects.

Entry Fees:

Early Bird Submission through Monday, September 11: $135 per entry * Must use discount code at check out: Built2017
Regular Submission after Monday, September 11: $150 per entry
Each entry includes one ticket to the Announcement Celebration on October 5th. Please enter your attendee name(s) when submitting payment for entry.

2017 Built Design Awards Jury:

Merrill Elam, AIA - Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects, Atlanta, GA
Rand Elliott, FAIA - Elliott + Associates Architects, Oklahoma City, OK
Florian Idenburg, Intl. Assoc. AIA - SO-IL, Brooklyn, NY