CELEBRATE ARCHITECTURE 2014: Awards & Honors Reception

Benefiting the Dallas Center for Architecture Foundation

Tickets are limited, get yours today!
March 6, 2014
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Klyde Warren Park: Pavilion/Moody Plaza Map It
2012 Woodall Rodgers Freeway
Dallas, TX 75201


Please join AIA Dallas on March 6, 2014 for CELEBRATE ARCHITECTURE, a reception to recognize our Community Honor Award Recipients as our Dallas champions of architecture and benefiting the Dallas Center for Architecture (DCFA) Foundation.

With the Dallas skyline as the backdrop to our celebration, the reception will be hosted at Klyde Warren Park at the Pavilion/Moody Plaza. Entertainment will include the Booker T. Washington High School Jazz Trio with specialty desserts by Savor. We will raise a glass to celebrate honorees at the national, state and local level.

Maxwell Anderson, The Eugene McDermott Director, Dallas Museum of Art

AIA Dallas Community Honors 2013

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: EG Hamilton, FAIA
  • Honorary AIA Dallas Membership: Linda Owen, Roy L. Wilshire, P.E., Pete DeLisle
  • Firm Award: michael malone [architects] inc.
  • Consultant Award: RLG
  • Contractor Award: TDIndustries
  • Community Honors: The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza, CityDesign Studio
  • 25 Year Award Residential: Beck House by Philip Johnson
  • 25 Year Award Non-Residential: Dallas Museum of Art by Edward Larrabee Barnes, FAIA / Associate Architect:: Pratt Box Henderson
  • AIA Dallas President’s Medal by Kirk B. Teske, AIA – AIA Dallas President 2013: Todd Howard, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP

AIA National Honor Awards 2013

  • Young Architects Award: Derwin Broughton, AIA
  • Young Architects Award: Jennifer Workman, AIA
  • AIA Dallas Members elevated to Fellowship 2013: Charyl McAfee Duncan, FAIA

AIA National Honor Awards 2014

  • Honorary AIA National Membership: Walter J. Humann
  • Young Architects Award: Lorena Toffer, AIA
  • Associates Award: Ana Isabel Guerra, Assoc. AIA
  • AIA Dallas Members elevated to Fellowship 2014: Russell Buchanan, FAIA, Myriam Camargo, FAIA, Pablo Laguarda, FAIA, Richard Miller, FAIA, Gary Olp, FAIA, Bryan Trubey, FAIA, Allan Zreet, FAIA

Texas Society of Architects Honor Awards

  • The Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Honor of Llewellyn W. Pitts, FAIA: Reagan W. George, FAIA
  • Mentorship Award: AIA Dallas Emerging Leaders Program
  • Citation of Honor: Jubilee Park & Community Center
  • Artisan Award: Gate Precast
  • Honorary Member, Texas Society of Architects: John F. Crawford

AIA Dallas Design Awards 2013


  • South Intermediate High School: Perkins + Will
  • Pomona Residence: Cunningham Architects
  • The Kislak Center for Special Collections, Rare Books and Manuscripts:Gensler
  • Galveston Fire and Rescue #4: HDR Architecture, Inc.
  • Mockingbird Residence: Buchanan Architecture
  • NEHO (Nueva Exansión Hospital Obeservatorio): HKS, Inc.
  • College Park Picnic Pavilion & Site Improvements: ARCHITEXAS & SNOHETTA


  • sustainABLEhouse: buildingcommunityWORKSHOP


  • One-Forty: Retail Center: Perkins + Will
  • Preston Royal Branch Library: Perkins + Will
  • Legacy ER – Allen: 5G Studio Collaborative
  • Straits Forum Convention Center: HKS, Inc.
  • Dalian Planning Bureau: Laguarda.Low Architects


About the Event

CELEBRATE ARCHITECTURE is AIA Dallas’ opportunity to honor local members of the profession and community for their distinguished achievements in 2013 on the National, State, and Local level. AIA Dallas is the voice of architects in our community and we take great care in honoring the best work of our own and those that support us, our great clients and patrons. The name speaks for itself – this is a night to celebrate the art and craft of architecture and all that it brings to our city and our daily lives. Targeted attendees include AIA members, architects, members of the design & construction industry, civic leaders, philanthropists, and all around champions of Dallas.

Image above by Craig Blackmon, FAIA