Community Honors: 2019 TxA Honor Awards Nominations

March 11, 2019 - April 8, 2019

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: 2019 Texas Society of Architects Honor Awards

To submit a nomination for one of the awards listed, please complete the form below with the name of the award, who you are nominating, and a brief explanation of why you believe they deserve the award (limited to 250 characters, please send lengthier nominations & descriptions to

Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Honor of Llewellyn W. Pitts, FAIA
The Society’s highest honor, the Medal for Lifetime Achievement is awarded to recognize a TxA member for a lifetime of distinguished leadership and dedication in architecture and the community.

Architecture Firm Award
Awarded to a member firm that has consistently produced distinguished architecture for at least 10 years, this is the highest honor the Society can bestow upon a firm. The Honor Awards Committee will focus its evaluation on the quality of the firm’s architecture and the firm’s contributions to AIA, the profession, and the community. Firms practicing under the leadership of either a single principal or several principals are eligible for the award. In addition, firms that have been reorganized and whose name has been changed or modified are also eligible, as long as the firm has been in operation for a period of at least 10 years.

Award for Community Service in Honor of John D. Pfluger, FAIA
Awarded to an individual member for an extended commitment to community service or significant contribution evidenced in a positive impact on urban, environmental, or neighborhood issues. Nominees may be architects who use their practice to enhance their community.

Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions in Honor of Edward J. Romieniec, FAIA
A nominee must be a current or former member of the faculty at one of the eight accredited Texas schools of architecture, and must have been a full-time educator for at least five years. Criteria includes: teaching of great breadth; influencing a wide range of students; and the ability to maintain relevance through the years by directing students toward the future while drawing on the past. It is expected that a candidate teaching courses in architecture be an AIA member.

Award for Young Professional Achievement in Honor of William W. Caudill, FAIA
This award recognizes a member for professional achievement in leadership development during the early years of practice. Architect members of AIA who have been licensed to practice less than 10 years by the submittal deadline, and who are currently registered in the State of Texas, are eligible. The nominee should be a role model who: goes beyond the call of duty in service to the profession; influences improvement in the organization at the state level; encourages participation among fellow members and nonmembers; exemplifies qualities of leadership; and exemplifies qualities of professional practice.

Associate Member of the Year
This Honor Award is presented to an individual Associate AIA member who best exemplifies the highest qualities of leadership and has demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to Texas or to his or her component chapter.

Honorary Membership
Honorary membership in the Texas Society of Architects is one of the highest honors the Society can bestow upon a person outside the profession of architecture. It is awarded to an individual for his or her long-term association with architects, architecture, or allied professions in providing a better quality of life in Texas.

Mentorship Award
Awarded to a Texas Society of Architects member or a Texas AIA chapter for developing unique programming for the successful development of Associate AIAs, or for an extraordinary effort to mentor and promote the advancement of these professionals at the local or state level.

Award for Excellence in the Promotion of Architecture through the Media in Honor of John G. Flowers, Hon. AIA
Awarded to recognize an individual or organization for excellence in the promotion of architecture through the media. Media is a broad category and can include written materials, radio/TV, web and digital format.

Citation of Honor
Awarded to groups, organizations, or individuals outside the profession whose activities make significant contributions to the goals of the architectural profession for improvement of the natural or built environment in Texas.

Artisan Award
The Texas Society of Architects' Artisan Award is presented to individuals, groups or organizations outside the profession whose artistry, talent, technique, diligence, creative insight and collaborative nature support the creation of safe, beautiful, sustainable environments and make significant contributions to the built and natural environment in Texas.


Online Registration Form

Registrant Information
Additional Questions